N.D. Wilson on Trouble

This is a first for the blog. This site is usually dedicated to things I read and theological reflections, but I’ve decided to share a video.  I found N.D. Wilson’s biblical-theological study of ‘trouble’ to be thought-provoking, helpful, and moving. It’s a bit more than an hour long, so I probably need to motivate you a bit.

This talk is a prime example of why biblical-theology is a worthwhile enterprise. It would take a book-length work to truly unpack an idea like ‘trouble’ as it is conveyed in the Bible. But in a relatively short time Wilson manages to weave quite a narrative, and make some powerful, dead on applications along the way.

I had Ray Lamontagne’s song, Trouble, in my head for a couple of days after watching this video. Why does trouble dog us from the day we’re born? Is it all our fault? Is God to blame? Where did all this trouble come from and what’s the point of it? Watch the video for answers.

P.S. He writes some pretty good books as well. My daughter and I are back into the 100 Cupboards Trilogy reading the Chestnut King.

Your Thoughts: